“You’ve got me? Who’s got you?!?”

Maybe THE classic scene from the first Superman movie with Christopher Reeve is the one where Superman rescues Lois Lane for the first time.  You can watch it below. (And you even get to listen to the coolest movie theme song ever – I still get chills from that score!)

So Superman swoops up and scoops up Lois Lane, saving her from a fatal fall from a skyscraper – because that’s just what Superman does.  He tells her not to worry, because he has her.  Her response is classic:

“You’ve got me? Who’s got you?!?”

We laugh at that line, but it reminds me of my wrestling with the self-existence (or aseity) of God when I was a child.  I remember asking someone the question, “Who made God?” or “Where did God come from?”  And it was left to some poor, well-meaning adult in my church at the time to try to explain the self-existence & eternity of God to a boy who had probably not even reached his 10th birthday yet.  It can be a hard concept to get your mind wrapped around even for an adult!

Everything in the entire universe had a beginning, a starting point.  But not God.  He has always been.  There has never been a time when God (Father, Son & Spirit) was not.  The very first verse of the Bible tells us that “In the beginning God . . . (Genesis 1:1).

Psalm 90:2 tells us:

“Before the mountains were brought forth,

or ever you had formed the earth and the world,

from everlasting to everlasting you are God.”

In his classic book on the attributes of God called, The Knowledge of the Holy, A.W. Tozer writes,

“A more positive assertion of selfhood could not be imagined than those words of God to Moses: I AM THAT I AM [Exodus 3:14]. Everything God is, everything that is God, is set forth in that unqualified declaration of independent being” (p.36-7).

The self-existence of God is the first of many things that separates or distinguishes us from God.  It reminds us that He is God, and we are not; He is the Creator, and we are but His creature, the work of His hands.

And for believers in Jesus Christ, there can be no more secure place than in His hands.

“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.” (John 10:27-30)

Not to worry – He has us!

Here’s the movie clip:

Leave a Reply

